Tonight, my best friend opened his mission call. 

(In The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, young adults can serve a mission for the Lord, preaching the gospel in different areas of the world and serving the people there in any way they can. Boys serve for two years and are asked to serve as a part of their Priesthood duty. Girls serve for 18 months and are encouraged to serve.) 

He ripped open the paper, his smile… made my heart really, really happy. 

“Dear Elder Nelson, You are hereby called to serve as a missionary of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. You are assigned to labor in the Indonesia Jakarta mission.โ€

He reports to the Missionary Training Center in Provo, Utah on May 24th. 

It is expected that he will serve for a period of 24 months. 

He will prepare to preach the gospel in the Indonesian language

I couldn’t be happier. 

I honestly couldn’t be happier. He’s following God. 

This amazing man is willing to dedicate two years of his life solely to the Lord, solely to the people of Indonesia that I’m sure he already loves and I know that his love for them will grow incredibly over the next part of his life. 

I’m so excited for him. My body cannot contain my joy and my words could never express it. This is other-worldly, heavenly. Only God could understand this joy this happiness and this excitement. 


I’m so proud of him. He’s doing what is right. And that’s amazing to me. 

I wrote this right after I heard him read it:  

Dear Aaron, 
Jakarta Indonesia. I didn’t think I would cry but I did and I am so beyond happy and excited for you. AARON YOURE GOING TO INDONESIA!!!!!!!! FOR TWO YEARS!!!!! I know your time there is going to be amazing. I know you’ll be doing the Lords work and I know that’s where he wants you and I’m amazed by it. I’m amazed by your strength by your courage by your commitment to live the gospel and be worthy of your priesthood that you hold. Thank you for setting an example to me and to so many that the Lords work is always first and that we can do great things through him. Aaron, you are going to do amazing things. You are going to change lives. You already are changing lives just by your decision to go on a mission, now, and be entirely committed for it. Thank you for keeping your priesthood duty. Thank you for your desire to serve and your love of the gospel. You are someone in my life that I look up to, that I love and that I know God loves incredibly. He knows your spirit, He knows your strength, and He knows your willingness. Aaron James Nelson I couldn’t be more excited and happy for you and I know you are going to be the most amazing missionary ever. You’re going to be able to love the people of Jakarta more than you knew you could. You’re going to expand and grow and feel things you always knew were right and I am so excited for you. You are an incredible man and I am so lucky among a hundred others to have you in my life. I love you and I am so so proud of you and just beyond excited for you. Thank you for making the right decision. 

Love, Madi

Ps- And i also hope you realize how much the lord trusts you with his children that he loves so much. And across the world, YOU are the one he chose to help them, to serve them, to love them, to know them, and to bring them back to Him. He trusts YOU and I hope you know how special that is. I saw you so happy and smiling and I just wanted to be there in that moment I want to hug you really really tight and tell you looking at you that you’re amazing and that I’m proud of you. 

๐Ÿ™‚
Starting in June (ish), the people of Indonesia will hold my heart for the next two years. Lord, bless they keep is safe. 
I cannot wait to serve my own mission. In five months I can start my papers. In nine months I’ll have received my call. In a year I’ll be on my mission. 

Nothing can keep me from this, just like nothing could keep my best friend from serving the Lord. 

God, praises be to Thee on High. 

Thank You. ๐Ÿ™‚

